Often, affected people need to tell their story in order to show the significance and scope of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan.

Take the jeweller for instance, whose new machinery and creative ideas have allowed her to export her goods to Europe from one day to the next. Thanks to her success, she was able to employ more staff. Her previously little known village suddenly got more important for the region.

Or, take the father, who bought a plot of land together with other committed parents in order to build a new school where local girls and boys now enjoy education on equal terms.

These stories give a face to the German Cooperation with Afghanistan. We have collected impressive stories showcasing people whose lives have been significantly influenced thanks to the German Cooperation’s activities in Afghanistan.

Filter

Results 21
With us mentors, these young teachers have someone at their side they can trust. They don’t have the feeling they are utterly alone with a mountain of challenges stacked up against them.
Three years ago, newly qualified teacher Gita was very enthusiastic at the prospect of starting work at a school in Mazar-e Sharif in Balkh Province. After training as a maths teacher at the Teacher Training Institute, she was adamant she would give her pupils a better future by ensuring they got...
I’ve learned how to organise tasks and projects and have been able to rediscover forgotten knowledge from my degree course.
The nearest major town from Shighnan, the centre of the district bearing the same name, is around seven hours away by car. The town is located in Badakhshan province in the border region of Afghanistan’s mountainous northeast. Tajikistan is right on the other side of the river.
We now have the floor waters under control and we can irrigate our fields according to our exact needs.
Akakhil, Babanazar and Darwaza are three small villages in the province of Baghlan in northern Afghanistan. The villages are home to between 100 and 200 families, and although they are some distance apart on a single plain, they share some similarities. The residents here make their livelihoods...
I have learned methods for dealing with psychological stress and pressure, to stop it getting the better of me. I can now analyse difficult situations better and develop solutions to overcome them.
Hafizullah, Aria and Shahrooz study economics at Takhar University. They also work part-time as teachers to pay for their studies and support their families. Now in their fourth year of university, the students have plenty of academic experience. However, a supplementary training programme gave...
The things that I have learned in Germany, I am passing on to my students and the German department.
Khalil Mohammad Sarbaz was lucky to attend Amani High School in Kabul. The elite school, which received support from Germany, was recognised for setting standards in modern education – in teaching German as a foreign language and for its qualified German teachers.
Our landscape is changing and becoming greener.
In 2010, the German government supported the construction of a small-scale hydropower plant in the village of Farghambol in the northern Afghan province of Badakhshan. The plant, which has a capacity of 280 kilowatts, supplies energy to 20,000 people. Its impact has been life-changing.
Earlier, we approached cases of gender abuse and harassment from an administrative point of view. Now, we take a legal and professional approach towards them.
Afghanistan may still be one of the least peaceful countries in the world – even more than 15 years after the Taliban were overthrown – but significant progress has been made in improving the social and economic status of Afghan women since 2001, with the support of the international community.
We have an extremely well-appointed clinic, especially compared with other rural health centres.
Drive for about an hour out of Taloqan, the capital of Takhar province, across a sandy, rock-strewn landscape, and you reach the village of Galabatur. There is an air of sleepy tranquillity about the place – but around one of the buildings, situated on a low promontory, there is a buzz of activity...
Our main problem was the lack of water. From Mr Viktor, I learned different techniques on how to use water more efficiently.
Agriculture in Samangan, one of Afghanistan’s Northern provinces, is mainly based on nut production – almonds and pistachio in particular, but also walnuts. Conditions are rough though; hot and dry summers make it very difficult for farmers to produce enough so they and their families can make a...
I’m really happy that Pakiza is expanding and creating income opportunities for many others in addition to me.
It takes perseverance to make money from milk in northern Afghanistan. Farmers generally only keep between one and three cows, transportation hygiene is poor and the market is dominated by imported milk from Pakistan and Iran. The Pakiza dairy in Mazar-e Sharif was established in 2013 – today it is...

Die Bedeutung der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan wird oft erst dann deutlich, wenn Menschen aus ihrem Alltag berichten.

Da ist etwa die Schmuckherstellerin, die es mit Hilfe neuer Maschinen und kreativer Ideen geschafft hat, ihre Schmuckstücke von einem Tag auf den anderen nach Europa zu exportieren. Dank ihres Erfolgs konnte sie weitere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter einstellen und die regionale Bedeutung ihres kleinen, früher unbekannten Dorfes, deutlich steigern.

Oder der Vater, der zusammen mit anderen Eltern ein Stück Land kaufte, um darauf eine Schule zu errichten, in der Jungen und Mädchen heute gemeinsam und gleichberechtigt zusammen lernen können.

Solche Geschichten gibt es allerhand. Sie geben der Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ein menschliches Gesicht. Wir haben eindrucksvolle Geschichten gesammelt und zeigen die Menschen, deren Leben durch die deutsch-afghanische Entwicklungszusammenarbeit positiv verändert wurde. 

Filter

Ergebnisse 20
Mit uns Mentoren haben die Berufsunerfahrenen eine Vertrauensperson an ihrer Seite und durchbrechen damit das Gefühl, ganz allein vor einem riesigen Berg an Herausforderungen zu stehen.
Voller Enthusiasmus hat Gita vor drei Jahren als frisch gebackene Lehrerin an einer Schule in Mazar-e Sharif in der Provinz Balkh begonnen. Nach ihrer Ausbildung zur Mathelehrerin am Lehrerausbildungsinstitut war sie fest entschlossen, ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern eine bessere Zukunft durch...
Ich habe gelernt, Aufgaben und Projekte zu organisieren und konnte vergessenes Wissen aus dem Studium reaktivieren
Der nächste größere Ort ist rund sieben Autostunden von Shighnan, dem Zentrum des gleichnamigen Distrikts, entfernt. Die Kleinstadt befindet sich in der Provinz Badakhshan, im Grenzgebiet des bergigen Nordostens Afghanistans. Tadschikistan liegt auf der anderen Seite des Flusses, zum Greifen nahe.
Wir haben die Wassermassen jetzt im Griff und können unsere Felder genau nach Bedarf bewässern.
Akakhil, Babanazar, Darwaza: drei kleine Dörfer in der Provinz Baghlan, im Norden Afghanistans. In den Dörfern leben 100 bis 200 Familien und obwohl diese ein ganzes Stück voneinander entfernt in einer Ebene liegen, haben sie dennoch einige Gemeinsamkeiten: Die Menschen hier leben vom Weizen- und...
Ich habe Methoden gelernt, mit psychischen Belastungen und Stress umzugehen, mich nicht davon vereinnahmen zu lassen. Jetzt kann ich schwierige Situationen besser analysieren und Lösungen entwickeln, um sie in den Griff zu bekommen.
Hafizullah, Aria und Shahrooz studieren Wirtschaft an der Universität in Takhar. Nebenbei arbeiten die jungen Leute als Lehrkräfte, um ihr Studium zu finanzieren und ihre Familie zu unterstützen. Akademisch sind sie im inzwischen vierten Studienjahr nicht unerfahren; und doch lernten die...
All die Dinge, die ich in Deutschland gelernt habe, gebe ich nun an meine Studentinnen und Studenten und die deutsche Abteilung der Universität weiter.
Khalil Mohammad Sarbaz hatte das große Glück, die Amani High-School in Kabul besucht zu haben. Die ehemals von Deutschland unterstützte Eliteschule war dafür bekannt, moderne Unterrichtsstandards zu setzen – vor allem beim Deutschunterricht als Fremdsprache und bei den qualifizierten deutschen...
Die Landschaft bei uns verändert sich, sie wird immer grüner.
2010 unterstützte die Bundesregierung den Bau eines Kleinwasserkraftwerkes im Dorf Farghambol in der Provinz Badakhshan im Norden Afghanistans. 280 Kilowatt versorgen nun 20.000 Menschen mit elektrischer Energie. Das Leben für die Menschen hat sich seitdem verändert.
Die Ausstattung unserer Klinik ist hervorragend, vor allem im Vergleich zu anderen Dorfkliniken.
Etwa eine Stunde über Sand- und Steinpiste von Taloqan, der Provinzhauptstadt Takhars, entfernt, liegt ein verschlafenes Dorf: Galabatur. Alles ist ruhig, auf einer kleinen Anhöhe herrscht jedoch Bewegung. Hier befindet sich die Dorfklinik.
Bisher war Wassermangel unser Hauptproblem. Die meiste Zeit war es zu trocken und die Pflanzen konnten nicht wachsen. Viktor hat mir verschiedene Techniken gezeigt, Wasser effizienter zu nutzen.
In Samangan, einer Provinz im Norden Afghanistans, macht der Anbau von Nüssen den Großteil der Landwirtschaft aus – insbesondere von Mandeln und Pistazien, aber auch von Walnüssen. Die Bedingungen sind hart: Heiße und trockene Sommer bereiten den Bauern große Schwierigkeiten auch so viel zu...
Jetzt bin ich total glücklich, dass Pakiza expandiert und nicht nur mir, sondern auch vielen anderen Menschen Einkommen verschafft.
Wer im Norden Afghanistan mit Milch Geld verdienen will braucht Ausdauer. Die Bauern halten nur eine bis drei Kühe, die Hygiene beim Transport ist mangelhaft und Importmilch aus Pakistan und Iran beherrscht den Markt. 2013 wurde die Pakiza Molkerei in Mazar-e Sharif gegründet, eine...
Heute bin ich sehr zufrieden. Meine Schülerin küsste meine Hände.
Als Haleema Sangar einst ihren Bruder und seine Freunde beim Ballspielen beobachtete, rannte sie los und trat den Ball. Er flog so hoch, dass ihre Freunde und Freundinnen und die anderen Kinder ihr langanhaltenden Applaus schenkten. Niemand hatte den Ball jemals so hoch fliegen gesehen und in den...